Satsang With Tom. Being Together

Everyone is welcome to satsang.

Sat = Being. Sangha = group of friends. We enjoy Being together as we are.

This satsang is descriptive, not prescriptive. I don’t know what anyone “should” be doing about anything. The only rule we have at satsang is be kind and respectful to everyone. Including yourself. Including Bonnie and me. Satsang is a safe space for all of us.

One of our devoted students at The Awakened Heart Center, Myrna, who had spent years teaching in India, once wrote me a beautiful letter saying I was everyone’s Kalyanamitra, or spiritual friend. I am your friend. You are my friend. I am not a guru, enlightened master, neo-advaita teacher, avatar, adept or any such thing. I do not represent any lineage, tradition, or teaching.

I abide in not knowing. What is shared in satsang is not something that can be known by our minds but is rather realized and felt in our Hearts.

I call what I offer “sharing.” This sharing is an expression of my own recognition, insights, experiences, and understanding that come from over fifty years of training with many different gurus and teachers in both the enlightenment traditions and human potential movement. Although many things are shared, what is always pointed to is self-evident if one is willing to honestly look without prejudice.

What is shared is an all inclusive view. It is a smörgåsbord of pointers and upayas (skillful and effective psycho-physical-spiritual technologies.) People come, take what they want and leave the rest for others. There are no “shoulds,” here. What may deeply resonate with one person may not resonate at all with another. And that is OK.


People who come to satsang have all sorts of backgrounds, experiences, views, interests and issues. Some have been coming to satsang for decades while for others it is their first time. They come for many different reasons or no reason at all. Everyone is welcome.

We enjoy Being Together As We Are. This is satsang. With great love and respect, I welcome you to satsang. 🙏❤️🙏

“When awakening happens, the mind’s need to understand disappears into the unconditional love and acceptance of the Heart” ~ Tom Thompson

Leave a comment